The Frames - TodayFM Christmas Broadcast

For Christmas, we have a special treat for y'all...

We've teamed up with Today FM to broadcast a selection of songs from the live shows the band played at the Iveagh Gardens, Dublin and Live at the Marquee, Cork this summer.


The show will go out on 27 Dec 2015 at 10pm (Dublin time).
More details over at





The Frames - Longitude   OUT NOW


CD Tracklist:

  1. God Bless Mom
  2. Seven Day Mile
  3. Happy
  4. Revelate
  5. Fitzcarraldo
  6. Star Star **
  7. In The Deep Shade
  8. Lay Me Down
  9. The Cost
  10. People Get Ready
  11. Ship Caught In The Bay
  12. None But I



Available now on CD from all good record stores and via mail order.

Vinyl now available at Tower Records, HMV, Golden Disc in Ireland and via mailorder.



Available in shops and on all good digital platforms incl. iTunes.




Digital release - July 10th
Physical release - July 31st







Through the frames 25 years, they've always been very lucky to work alongside some fantastic photographers and artists. It seemed like a good time to put together a songbook of 30 of our favourite songs, alongside images - many previously unseen - from their whole career. The tabulation pages were designed by Dunk Murphy to specifically reflect glens personal guitar fingering and a companion page accompanying each song has been selected by our very close artistic cohort David Cleary who himself has been around the band since way, way back in the day…..again, we hope you like it as much as we do…..

We've only done a small run of these books and they will be available at the shows in July.  If we have any left then we will sell them through the frames web store.






The Frames - Longitude



CD Tracklist:

  1. God Bless Mom
  2. Seven Day Mile
  3. Happy
  4. Revelate
  5. Fitzcarraldo
  6. Star Star **
  7. In The Deep Shade
  8. Lay Me Down
  9. The Cost
  10. People Get Ready
  11. Ship Caught In The Bay
  12. None But I


Includes new versions of "Revelate" and "Fitzcarraldo and new song "None But I"










 "This is a collection of songs from throughout the twenty five years we’ve been a band.  We initially wanted to mark this anniversary with a sort of ‘Best of The Frames’.  We put together a few different versions, including a certain number of songs from each record and including more popular live and radio songs - but this felt forced and incongruous.  After many conversations amongst ourselves we decided it should simply be a collection of our favourite tunes, songs we would be happy to put on a mix-tape for a friend.   So, here it is, with no regard to what album is most or least represented.  It’s a short collection of tunes we are proud of, some in slightly different versions from the original recordings, and one new song.  This is not the sum of our career but maybe some of the songs where we felt we had broken through to a new place or gotten better as a band. We hope you like it….we hope you enjoy it."



TheFrames_2015Double Vinyl Tracklist:

Side A

  1. God Bless Mom
  2. Seven Day Mile
  3. Happy
  4. Santa Maria

Side B

  1. Revelate
  2. Fitzcarraldo
  3. Star Star **
  4. In The Deep Shade
  5. Lay Me Down

Side C

  1. People Get Ready
  2. Ship Caught In The Bay
  3. The Cost
  4. None But I

Side D

  1. What Happens When The Heart Just Stops
  2. Your Face
  3. Look Back Now
  4. Mighty Sword


June 26th - Ireland(Plateau), Australia and New Zealand(Spunk) CD street date.
June 26th - Australia and New Zealand(Spunk) digital street date.


July 3rd - Ireland(Plateau) extended double vinyl release date.

July 10th - Ireland(Plateau) digital release date.

Rest of world to follow…

Frames photo by Piper Ferguson







The Frames - 25th anniversary dates


The Frames are pleased to announce three summer shows for the Iveagh Gardens, Dublin and Live at the Marquee Cork to mark 25 years as one of Ireland's most important rock bands.




Acknowledged as one of Ireland's most successful domestic music acts of their generation, The Frames career spans 3 decades.

They released their first album in 1992 and, over nearly a decade bounced through various well-documented record deals and band line-ups releasing consistently excellent records (Fitzcarraldo and Dance The Devil) along the way in spite of it. Finally, as the new millennium appeared the band shook themselves free of outside influences, beginning work on their seminal For The Birds, which they released on their own Plateaulabel in March 2001.

Two years later after constant touring and an ever-rising fanbase, the band released their live opus, Set List. It became the first of their albums to début in the Irish Album Charts at No 1 in May 2003 and has gone on to be their biggest-selling album to date. They continued with their relentless touring schedule around the world, inked an international record deal with the Anti record label (whilst retaining release rights for their own label at home and in Australia) and still found time to record and release their 5th studio album.

Following hot on the heels of a monumental sold-out open-air show in front of nearly 20,000 at Dublin's Marlay Park, Burn The Maps was released in September 2004. It went straight to No 1 at home in Ireland and became a long-term fixture in the Irish Charts in spite of the band having to spend most of their time away on tour supporting its release worldwide in 2005.

The Frames finished up 2005 with a sold-out gig in Dublin's Point Theatre and meanwhile in U.S., Burn The Maps finished at No 5 in the New York Times end of year Top 10 releases. 2006 began with Esquire magazine giving them the coveted Best Import award (which Coldplay had won the previous year).

Indulging a spot of moonlighting in March 2006, frontman Glen Hansard released a universally acclaimed collaborative Swell Season album (charting at No 5) and tour with Czech singer/pianist/composer Marketa Irglova. The film Once followed in 2007 and the Oscar went to Glen and Mar in 2008 for 'Falling Slowly".

The band released their 6th studio album, The Cost, in Ireland on Plateau in Ireland September 2006 (the rest of Europe followed in October on the Anti label). It went straight into the album charts at No 2 and was the springboard for a solid year of international touring, which culminated in a Christmas show in Ireland with Snow Patrol and a headline show to ring in the new year.

All of The Frames' albums to date have achieved Double Platinum sales status in Ireland (with the band's live album, Set List, and For The Birdsselling well in excess of Quadruple Platinum).

2010 saw The Frames celebrating their 20 year anniversay and after sometime away from playing live, the band returned to headline Electric Picnic as well as touring the US and Europe before finishing the year with sold-out Dublin shows in The Olympia,

Vicar St and Whelans in December.

Live performance of "Headlong" & "Stars Are Underground" :


Ticket details

Iveagh Gardens, Dublin – 4th July  SOLD OUT

Tickets priced €40 (including booking fee) 


Iveagh Gardens, Dublin – 5th July   SOLD OUT

 Tickets priced €40 (including booking fee) - on sale 4 Feb 2015 @ 9AM


Marquee, Cork – 11th July   SOLD OUT

Tickets priced €35 (including booking fee)



More Articles...
share Facebook MySpace Twitter